Monday, May 10, 2010

Hillsdale Farmer's Market Warning

We've heard from one of our members about a booth at the Hillsdale Farmer's Market that maybe potentially selling gluten containing grains as gluten free...

I don't know if any of you shop at the Hillsdale Farmer's Market on Sundays but one of the booths sells a "Gluten-Free"(according to the label) mix that has rye, barley and oats. When I confronted them they argued that since the rye and barley weren't crossed contaminated with wheat then they were gluten free just like the oats. I understand that oats aren't necessarily a gluten grain. I think they are likening the barley and rye to the oat issue.


Please note that both rye and barely are off limits for celiacs and those on a gluten free diet. I would not recommend buying this mix. We are in the process of trying to find out more details about this vender and will advise you as we discover more. In the meantime it always pays to read the labels!

Thanks to those of you who are our eyes and ears on the street alerting us to situations such as these.

2 comments:

Lisa said...

Okay so I am very new to this gluten free world. Why is rye and barley off limits? Is it strictly a cross contamination issue or do they have their own natural form of gluten? I have been doing a lot of research for homemade GF bread and found several for rye bread. I am very confused! Thanks for your advice.

Jenn said...

Wheat, barley and rye all contain a form of gluten that sets off an autoimmune response in a person with CD.
I will make a separate post for you detailing why... it's too much to put in the comments here. =)

To make it more confusing for you there are GF "rye" breads but they never actually contain rye. Usually they contain some of the more flavorful flours (brown rice, sorghum, buckwheat, etc) and caraway seeds that give the bread a rye bread taste without the gluten. If you come across a rye bread with rye in it, it's not gluten free.