Saturday, March 17, 2007


Ben & Jerry’s Issues Allergy Alert on Undeclared Wheat in Ben & Jerry’s Country Peach Cobbler Ice Cream: Peach Ice Cream With Cinnamon-Sugar Shortbread Pieces & A Peach Swirl

Rob Michalak
(802) 846-1500 x7702

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- South Burlington, VT -- March 16, 2007 -- Ben & Jerry's, in cooperation with the Food and Drug Administration, is voluntarily recalling 250,000 pints of its Ben & Jerry's Country Peach Cobbler Ice Cream: Peach Ice Cream with Cinnamon-Sugar Shortbread Pieces & a Peach Swirl ("Country Peach Cobbler"), because it contains undeclared wheat. The following date codes: Jan 23, 2008; Jan 24, 2008; Feb 8, 2008; Feb 9, 2008 of Country Peach Cobbler are subject to the recall. The date code is found on the bottom of the pint.

People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to wheat run the risk of a temporary health problem/illness if they consume Country Peach Cobbler. No illnesses have been reported to date. The company is issuing an alert through the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network.

Country Peach Cobbler was distributed nationwide and reached consumers through retail stores.

The voluntary recall was initiated after it was discovered that the product, which contains wheat, was distributed in packaging that did not reveal the presence of wheat on the ingredient label.

If consumers have a Country Peach Cobbler pint dated Jan 23 2008, Jan 24 2008, Feb 08 2008 and Feb 09 2008 (printed on the bottom of the pint), they should discard the ice cream and send the base of the empty container back to Ben &Jerry's for a full refund:

Ben & Jerry's
Consumer Response Department
Country Peach Cobbler Refund
30 Community Drive
South Burlington, VT 05403

For any questions, consumers are asked to call 1-877-995-4716

FDA: Source Information

On another note... this is Ben & Jerry's statement in regards to which of their product currently contain gluten:

We do not have a list of gluten-free flavors. Sorry! The ingredients that we use change quite often. We do not want to claim a flavor is gluten-free, then have that list become outdated and the recipients not aware of the latest changes.

Ben and Jerry’s has a very proactive approach to addressing the concerns of gluten-restricted and other food allergic individuals. We work closely with all of our ingredient suppliers, including packaging, to verify all ingredient components. This includes those ingredients in natural flavors, colors and spices that would be a concern to persons with sensitivity to gluten. We ensure that this information is then included on our product’s ingredient label.

If our product contains gluten, its presence would be indicated on the label by the words “wheat flour”, "flour", or other sources of gluten such as but not limited to malt and oats. Should any of our products contain those grains (wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, malt, etc.) the label would reference them. We understand that there are tricky ways that gluten can be missed. We assure you that we have researched our ingredients carefully, and we know exactly what is going into our ice cream.

Ben and Jerry’s is a member of the Food Allergy Network and the Food Allergy Resource and Research Program. Upon the advice of these consumer and industry groups we do not provide a list of flavors that do not contain gluten. There is always a concern with any list that the list would be replicated and the end recipients would not receive updates that would be required with a formulation change. The safe approach recommended by these organizations is to read the label each time a purchase is made. We are very sorry that we can not provide you with a list. Recognizing that reading food labels can be time-consuming and tedious, we wish to encourage you in your daily effort to read all food labels, as it is the best way for us to insure that you receive the information you need to make an informed and confident choice.

No comments: