Friday, August 22, 2008

Basics on Citric Acid

Since we get this asked of us a lot I thought I'd put a little note in her about citric acid. This is a quote from the Clan Thompson Celiac Newsletter:

Hi, I have read mixed things about citric acid. Is it ALWAYS gluten free? Thanks so much!!! Jill

Hi Jill, According to the Federal Code of Regulations, citric acid may be produced by recovery from sources like lemon or pineapple juice; by mycological fermentation or by a solvent extraction process. It is gluten free. I think the confusion stems from the fact that, in other countries, wheat might be used to make citric acid and if you eat imported foods, you might get exposed to it. However, I called the FDA and they told me that if an ingredient is gluten free in the US it will also be gluten free in imported products since FDA regulations govern imported products. So, you don't need to worry about citric acid at all in the US...whether you're eating something imported or made domestically. Lani

No comments: